Have you or a loved one been charged with drug possession in Van Buren County, Tennessee? Do you need an attorney to help with marijuana, meth, or other drug charges? If so, definitely talk with a lawyer. In the meantime, it’s important to understand the difference between simple possession and felony possession.
With a few exceptions, simple possession or casual exchange carries a maximum sentence of 11 months and 29 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500. Minimun fines for simple possession depend on the drug and the number of times you’ve been convicted, but they typically range between $250 and $1,000. For simple possession, the DA will often let you plead to 11/29 probation and a fine.
On the other hand, felony manufacture, sale, delivery, or possession with the intent to sell or deliver carries much stiffer penalties. Depending on the amount and type of drugs and your record, you could be looking at anywhere from a few years probation to decades in prison. The fines also vary greatly, ranging from $1,000 to $100,000.
Given how much the penalties vary, it’s critical that you talk with a criminal defense lawyer in Spencer, Tennessee, today.
Other Van Buren County (Spencer) posts: