Felony Ranges in Tennessee – Part 4: The Standard Offender

There are five felony offender classifications in Tennessee – career, persistent, multiple, standard, and especially mitigated. For most felonies, your classification determines both the number of years you may be sentenced to and the percentage of your sentence you have to serve before you are parole eligible. Therefore, it is very important to understand felony offender ranges in Tennessee.

The standard offender is a defendant who is not:

(1) A multiple offender;

(2) A persistent offender;

(3) A career offender;

(4) An especially mitigated offender; or

(5) A repeat violent offender.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 40-35-105.

As you can see below, even standard offenders face significant jail time if found guilty:

A Felony – 15-25 years at 30%

B Felony – 8-12 years at 30%

C Felony – 3-6 years at 30%

D Felony – 2-4 years at 30%

E Felony – 1-2 years at 30%

As always, talk with a lawyer about the specific details of your case. Some crimes have unique sentences and release eligibility dates.

Other Felony Sentencing ClassificationsCareer OffenderPersistent OffenderMultiple Offender, and Especially Mitigated Offender

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s