Felony Ranges in Tennessee – Part 2: The Persistent Offender

There are five felony offender classifications in Tennessee – especially mitigated, standard, multiple, persistent, and career. For most felonies, your classification determines both the number of years you may be sentenced to and the percentage of your sentence you have to serve before you are parole eligible. Therefore, it is very important to understand felony offender ranges in Tennessee.

The persistent offender is a defendant who has received:

(1) Any combination of five (5) or more prior felony convictions within the conviction class or higher or within the next two (2) lower felony classes, where applicable; or

(2) At least two (2) Class A or any combination of three (3) Class A or Class B felony convictions if the defendant’s conviction offense is a Class A or B felony.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 40-35-107.

As you can see below, persistent offenders face significant jail time if found guilty:

A Felony – 40-60 years at 45%

B Felony – 20-30 years at 45%

C Felony – 10-15 years at 45%

D Felony – 8-12 years at 45%

E Felony – 4-6 years at 45%

As always, talk with a lawyer about the specific details of your case.  Some crimes have unique sentences and release eligibility dates.

Other Felony Sentencing ClassificationsCareer Offender, Multiple Offender, Standard Offender, and Especially Mitigated Offender


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s